Why New Year’s Eve


I AM a girl.  And I’m starting to get excited about planning this wedding.  I’m listening to songs like Marry Me by Train.  And Marry You by Bruno Mars.  With my toes tapping I search on Pinterest, dreaming about what I want my bouquet to look like and I’m realizing my wedding is exactly 48 days away!  Which means I need to stop dreaming and start ordering!

I’ve got my dress and my shoes, the band is booked, the venue booked, the officiant almost locked down.  And now comes the little details.  The ones I said I wasn’t going to worry about but instead ENJOY!  Girls like details.  :-)  What will be the colors, how many candles, table decorations?, party favors?, what songs should be on the iPod list while the band isn’t playing during dinner?  When should we do the toast? How do we rent a dance floor?  And with every question I realize I need to make a decision soon and figure this out!

But I’m determined not to let it all get to me.  Regardless that I work for a non-profit organization and the end of the year donation campaign represents 30% of our income and I’m in charge of it.  Meaning…that this is not only the busiest time of the year for the world as we all run around preparing for Christmas, but it’s also the busiest time of year for me professionally.  On top of that, Harry is moving his business from one city to another and being that he works in accounting…the end of the year….well, it’s kind of an important time of year for accountants too.

So crazy us…we pick the busiest time of year for both of us to plan a wedding.  Why?  Because we don’t want to wait.  Because New Year’s Eve sounded like the most fun anniversary date in the world to have.  I’ve always loved that holiday.  Letting go the past and embracing the future.  Celebrating the past and hope for the future.  Cherishing the year before and everything that happened and looking forward to the future.  What a perfect date for an anniversary.  Perfect.  And it’s my favorite scene from my favorite movie that typifies our relationship.  So it must be done.  Take a second and watch it…it’s the best.

It is the  perfect night for us to say you are IT to each other.

And for me to tell him,

“I love that you have to have the room temperature set at 65 degrees no matter what.  I love that wherever we go you already know what you’re going to order because we have “our places,” I love that you scrunch up your forehead when you pose for pictures trying to look tough and mean, I love that after I spend a day with you my face hurts from how much we smile, and I love you that you are the last person I want to talk to before I go to sleep each night.  And it’s not because I’m lonely and it’s not because it’s New Year’s Eve.  I’m here tonight because when you realize you want to spend the rest of your life with somebody,  you want the rest of your life to start as soon as possible.”

The ring on my right hand is Celtic and symbolizes growth of the spirit.  My spirit and the Holy Spirit within me.  It has served me well.  The ring I will be wearing on my left hand mimics the shape almost exactly.  A round diamond with two pear shapes on either side.  For me,  when that ring is placed on my finger, I will know that all the growth I’ve had over the last 4 years has led me to that moment.  All of it.  And the spirit that led me to Ireland, the spirit that led me into and out of Slimeball’s arms, the spirit that led me to seek Jesus deeper and to cling to Him when I was at my weakest moments, is the spirit who led me to Harry and our friendship, and our love.  It will have come full circle.  And a perfect beginning to whatever happens next.

I read an article yesterday that said planning a vacation makes you happier than actually going on one because the trigger for happiness is anticipating the event.  It said that people are often let down after vacations because they don’t live up to expectations.  But the dream this girl is dreaming is going to lead me each day anticipating what will happen next.

I remember feeling like all my decisions were over sitting in my little farmhouse in Washington state.  I had my husband, my kids, my career.  I remember that feeling of let-down.  Not that I regretted where I was, but just knowing that there wasn’t much else to decide.  I thought  – this is my life for the rest of my life.  Little did I  know….everything but the kids changed.  And I realize now life goes in phases.  It’s never over.  It’s never settled.  Life keeps changing.

Harry and I are planning almost a nomadic life for the next perhaps up to 8 years.  Building up his company first.  Moving to Long Beach to live in a high-rise on the beach.  Then in a year or two moving to New York City.  Instead of two old people looking at RV’s to buy and drive around America, we are looking at Lofts in cities to rent where we can find the best parks and restaurants and museums to explore.

The wedding is just the beginning.  This New Year’s Eve I will marry my Harry.  The beginning of something wonderful.

The first time we met I hated him…the second time we met we became acquaintances….the third time we met we became friends….and then we weren’t…and then we fell in love.  A year and half later we are planning to get married.  It only took 18 months.  Or 32 years and 4 months since we met in 7th grade.  And I can’t wait to tell you about that wedding… <3

4 responses to “Why New Year’s Eve

  1. This gave me chills!!! I am so incredibly happy for you! what a difference a year makes, my friend. I love that the wedding is just the beginning, absolutely right. I can’t wait to see pics!

    • Me too Jolene and we didn’t even plan the Harry Met Sally connection to our New Year’s Eve wedding it just fell into place with all the rest of it. :-) Amazing.

  2. Oh Livvy! I am so so SO happy for you… for you both. What a blessing to have Harry in your life. It’s true…the best things in life are worth waiting for. I wish you every happiness. You more than deserve it! xxx

Leave a Reply

