After All – Take 2


sunrise

I have to come back to this song today.  Because the lyrics just hit me again in a different way than how I posted them last time.  

This song for me is about surrendering control without fear but with courage.  Realizing you can’t protect yourself from every hurt …Hurt and pain will happen no matter what you do and sometimes because of what you do to try and stop it.  What happens to you WILL change you.  It’s bound to.  If you put a hard shell around you keeping people and life from getting inside where the real you exists…you will not really be living.  And even the stuff that feels bad  and  is truly bad…will create a beautiful work of art called “your life.”

Accept it.  Be content.  Be brave.  Be honest.  Live.  Love.  It will be worth it all in the end.

I REALLY needed to hear this cause today I’m getting my butt kicked by fear.

(taken from “After All” by Dar Williams)

Well the sun rose
So many colors, it nearly broke my heart
It worked me over like a work of art
And I was part of all that

So go ahead, push your luck
Say what it is you gotta say to me
We will push on into that mystery
And it’ll push right back
And there are worse things than that
Cause for every price
And every penance that I could think of
It’s better to have fallen in love
Than never to have fallen at all

‘Cause when you live in a world
Well it gets into who you thought you’d be
And now I laugh at how the world changed me
I think life chose me after all

Leave a Reply

